Club Competitions

Club Only Competitions

To foster competition and provide club members with anonymous judging feedback, QUAFF each year holds a series of Club Only Competitions ("COC").  QUAFF COC's are free to enter, but are only open to dues-paid club members.

The first, second, and third place winners of the COC's are recognized at our monthly general QUAFF meetings, and all entrants earn points in the race for the coveted title of QUAFF Homebrewer of the Year. Here is the 2021 Club Only Competition lineup:

Competition Theme Entry Deadline Eligible BJCP Style(s)
Session Beers Thursday, February 18 any (must be 5.0% ABV or below)
New Hop Varieties Thursday, March 18 any (must feature at least one of BRU-1, Talus, Triumph, HBC 472, HBC 630)
New [Non-IPA] Styles Thursday, May 20 Categories 2, 3A, 3C, 3D, 4B, 5A, 7C, 12A, 12B, 15C, 17A, 22B, 22D, 26A, 27, 28
Belgian Ales Thursday, July 22 Categories 23B-23F, 24A, 24B, 25, 26
Fruit and Honey Thursday, September 23 Categories 29, 31B (with honey), C1, C2, M1, M2, M3, M4
Strong Beers Friday, December 3 any (must be 8.0% ABV or above)

2021 Results

    • Session Beers
      • 1st Place: Ryan Fowler - "Cobra Kiwi" (American Pale Ale)
      • 2nd Place: Rich Webber - "Kiss My Shilling" (Scottish Light)
      • 3rd Place: Robert Bridenbecker - "Schwarzchism" (Schwarzbier)
      • Honorable Mention: Robert Bridenbecker - "Parabola Porter" (Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer)
    • New Hop Varieties
    • Lagers
    • Kveik Yeast
    • Farmhouse Beer
    • Vintage Beer

2020 Results

    • British Beers
      • 1st Place: Travis Hammond, John Scheffler & Andy Zimmerman - English Porter (13C)
      • 2nd Place: Patrick Leon - Irish Red Ale (15A)
      • 3rd Place: Patrick Leon - Ordinary Bitter (11A)
    • "C-Hops"
      • 1st Place: Jim Connor - Best Bitter (11C)
      • 2nd Place: Cyrus S. Baluyot - American IPA (21A)
      • 3rd Place: Doug Brown - American Amber Ale (19A)
    • Lagers
      • 1st Place: Bryce Hunter - Czech Premium Pale Lager (3B)
      • 2nd Place: Doug Brown - Schwarzbier (8B)
      • 3rd Place: Jim Connor - Pale Kellerbier (7C)
    • Kveik Yeast
      • 1st Place: Rob Bridenbecker - British Golden Ale (12A)
      • 2nd Place: Kevin Lees - Saison (25A)
      • 3rd Place: Oleg Shpyrko - Catharina Sour (X4)
    • Farmhouse Beer
      • 1st Place: Scott Rauvola - Saison (25A) [pale, super strength]
      • 2nd Place: Rob Bridenbecker - Saison (25A) [pale, standard strength]
      • 3rd Place: Kevin Lees - Saison (25A) [pale, standard strength]
    • Vintage Beer
      • 1st Place: Scott Rauvola - Old Ale (17B)
      • 2nd Place: Hayden Charter - Imperial Stout (20C)
      • 3rd Place: Patrick Leon - British Strong Ale (17A)

How to Enter

    • Register your entry or entries using the Google form for the competition.  The link to this form will be circulated via email to the QUAFF email list.
    • Print and fill out an entry label for each entry, and attach a completed label to each of your bottles (preferably with a rubber band).
    • Drop off your bottles at Savagewood Brewing during business hours, by no later than the entry deadline. Please check Savagewood's business hours before attempting to deliver your entries.

Rules and Procedures

    • Club Only Competitions are only open to current, dues-paid QUAFF members.
    • Each club member is allowed up to 3 total entries (including co-brewed entries) per competition.
    • No club member may enter more than 1 entry (including co-brewed entries) in the same style (i.e., within the same sub-category) in the same competition. For the Farmhouse Beer competition, club members may enter up to 3 entries as long as they are distinct in strength/color from one another.
    • To ensure that a fresh sample is available for Best of Show judging, two (2) bottles are required per entry.
    • Entries must not be brewed on a professional system.
    • All entries must be registered for the competition and dropped off by the entry deadlines listed above.
    • Failure to comply with these rules and procedures may result in disqualification from the competition.
    • Each entry will receive back at least two completed scoresheets via email. Short-form scoresheets may be used to expedite judging.
    • Results will generally be announced at the next monthly QUAFF general meeting following the entry deadline, after which results will be sent to the QUAFF email list.


James Ferguson, Dan Stoneman, and Pat Walls are the Club Only Competition Coordinator for 2021. Please direct any questions, comments, and concerns to

© Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved
Powered by WordPress. Designed by WordPress Themes by ProGo